Alimenti freschi dalla Sardegna and Fried Zucchini Flowers

I have to apologise for the lack of blogs lately. At the moment I’m on holidays with my family and friends in Italy and our internet access is not so good ( a relief actually to get a break from it all) and Alice is up to her eyeballs in shooting a Japanese book.

Although I haven’t been posting my discovery’s I assure you the cooking has not stopped. The fresh produce here in Sardinia is amazing, the markets have been full of delicious fruits, vegetables, cheeses, meats, sweet treats and baked goods. All of which of course are inspiring delicious Italian feasts.

Italy is a favourite country of mine for the amazing fresh produce and I have not been disappointed in Sardinia. It has been incredible to see also that the supermarkets are stocked with mostly produce of Sardinia.. wines, olives, antipasto jarred vegetables, as well as so much more. The meats and cheeses of sardinia are great as well as the typical pastas and of coure the cakes and desserts of the region..

The family we are away with are also great food lovers so cooking and buying food holds great importance on this trip. In the first days shopping zucchini flowers were thrown into the bag with the challenge ” lets see what you can do with these..”

It so happened that in the Bon Appetit magazine that I had travelled with for browsing was this amazing recipe and when we saw more flowers at the weekly market I decided I would have to give it a go. Outcome – absolutely delicious, this batter is so tasty and light that the flavour of the flowers is still prominent and so yummy! I also stuffed some of the flowers with a mix of ricotta cheese, flat leaf parsley, lemon rind and juice.

Definitely look out for these at your local farmers market, and have a go, you won’t be disappointed! I’ll keep posting some of the delicious recipes we have made and I think I’ll be continuing a little on the Italian theme once home, too much inspiration!

6 thoughts on “Alimenti freschi dalla Sardegna and Fried Zucchini Flowers

  1. Italian markets are the absolute best… if I see something I don’t know how to cook, I usually ask and then all of the stall owners from all over the market plus about half of the customers chip in with their own recipe and argue good naturedly over the best way to do it – with much gesticulating and “credimi, è proprio la morte sua!” (It’s THE way to do it) going on. Such fun!

Leave a Reply

