Made In Minutes – Poached Fruit

My trip to Orange last month (see post here) inspired this Made in Minutes. Our dessert at the lovely Mandagery Creek Farm Lunch was topped with poached quince which was so soft and sweet and has been on my mind to make ever since. Also I brought home with me from the farmers market in Orange some gorgeous prunes.
prunes1
I have loved prunes from such a young age, my grandmother always has (and has had for as long as I can remember) a container of soaked juicy soft prunes in the fridge to spoon over her muesli with yoghurt every morning.
So this is exactly what I did this week, I poached some quince and some prunes and placed them in the fridge to use on breakfast. I have however found myself using them also for a lots of other cooking ( as well as just sneaking odd bites for snacks, so yummy!). Poached fruit makes a delicious topping for icecream, can be used in muffins (I made some dark choc, prune and pecan muffins today which I’ll blog next), and is great for tarts, I made simple puff pastry tarts a few days ago, among other tasty treats. And, its sooo simple to do.

Pictures5

To poach the prunes I added prunes, water ( to cover the prunes and a bit more) and a split vanilla pod to a saucepan, brought it to a boil and slowly simmered covered for 5 minutes.
You can add a couple of tablespoons of sugar to the mix but I don’t think it is necessary really.
The quince was much the same, although quince takes a lot longer to poach, it really can’t be overdone. I would say simmer it for at least 30 minutes but just keep a check and make sure its nice and tender when you stop.
The only tricky part is keeping an eye on your fruit so that its not overdone. All fruits will take a different amount of time so just be aware. Also, vary the amount of water you use for poaching depending on the fruit. Prunes and Quince can soak up quite a bit of water, apples and pears are very water rich themselves so don’t need as much liquid.
Once cooled, transfer into an airtight container and refrigerate for up to 3 weeks. If it lasts that long! Mine didn’t. Please share what you like to use your poached fruit for…

prunes4
prunes6

Leave a Reply

